Tanks in SoD Phase 4: Changes for Warlock, Rogue, and Shaman

1 min read 0 2

Fans have started wondering how Warlocks, Rogues, and Shamans can fulfill the role of tanks in SoD Phase 4. And Josh Greenfield has given them a reassuring answer.

Tanks in SoD Phase 4 Changes for Warlock, Rogue, and Shaman

Season of Discovery has introduced new tanking specializations for Warlocks, Rogues, and Shamans. Needless to say, this has become one of SoD’s main selling points. With more types of tanks to explore, players are in for a broader range of dynamic gameplay options and group formation flexibility. However, with Phase 4 on the horizon, tougher raid encounters are also sure to follow. Take the enemies in Molten Core, for example. Some of them will gain Fire Immunity, posing a significant challenge for Warlock, as they heavily rely on Searing Pain to generate Threat.

Concerns have arisen about the performance of these new tanks in SoD Phase 4. So, WoW Classic Senior Game Producer Josh Greenfield has taken to X/Twitter to share that raid content will be adjusted to accommodate all tank types. Each may have its unique strengths and drawbacks. However, the developers want to ensure that all tanks can participate effectively in raids.

The current plan is to tune level 60 raid content to allow any combination of tanks. While not confirmed, there is a strong implication that Fire Immunity might be adjusted or removed.

SoD Phase 4 is currently available on PTR. So, if you want to participate, be sure to check out our article here:

And while you’re at it, don’t hesitate to share your feedback on how Molten Core can better accommodate more tank specs!

Season of Discovery Runes Farm

Swift delivery, secure purchase, 100% account safety. Unlock all available SoD Runes for your class and more!

Get Your Runes Now!

4.8 Rated on

Banner image
2 likes 0 comments


2259 articles